Kosher seems to go hand in hand with veganism. Right? Both diets have a restriction of animal byproducts. There are a few kosher food restrictions to take note of. First, all utensils and equipment used for the preparation of meat and dairy must be kept separate. Second, is that meat and dairy cannot be mixed in one meal. And third, there needs kosher supervision. These are just a few of many, but very important ones. A vegan diet does not contain any animal products or byproducts. This includes any meat, dairy, fish, and eggs. Stricter vegans also tend to stay away from honey and gelatin. In many ways, sticking to a vegan diet is an easy way to observe eating kosher. So just how kosher is a vegan restaurant?
How Kosher is Veganism?
All vegan food can be considered kosher due to the elimination of animal products in the diet. But, it really all depends on how strictly you follow kashrut. To start, dairy and meat products are allowed in a kosher diet. However, they must be prepared in a certain fashion. The main concern with vegan restaurants being considered kosher is the manner in which the food is prepared. Vegan food prepared by non-Jews using non-kosher equipment is an important reason why people (especially those who adhere to a strict kosher diet) hesitate to consider vegan kosher. Without kosher supervision, while preparing the food, there is really no way to be 100% sure that the food is handled properly in a kosher manner.
Fruits & Veggies.
Not only are animal products a subject of concern when trying to eat kosher, but fruits and vegetables as well. These food groups are heavily emphasized in veganism. After all, eating vegan is plant-based. Those food groups by themselves are considered kosher. However, the insects that sneak their way in making the food not kosher. The fruit and vegetables prepared in a restaurant would need to be inspected by a kosher supervisor to check for bugs. Most fruits and vegetables shipped to restaurants are prepackaged and are not inspected prior to the arrival at the restaurant. That being said, many packaged foods can be difficult to determine if they are kosher due to the complexities of modern-day food processing.
So How Hard is it?
When it is all said and done, it’s a little more difficult to keep kashrut while being vegan or eating at vegan restaurants. That doesn’t mean that it can’t be done though. While adhering to a vegan and kosher diet may appear difficult at first, it’s really just understanding where your food comes from and how it was prepared. Overall, vegan restaurants are only kosher to those who are reformed about kosher guidelines. For those who are more Orthodox with the following kashrut, vegan restaurants are not the most reliant places for you to dine at.